Birthday Surprise: Deadpool Eyes Applique Pattern

As some of you may know, I  will be releasing my new infinity scarf pattern this upcoming weekend sometime. But what you didn’t know is that today, to celebrate my 30th birthday, I am releasing an applique pattern for Deadpool eyes!

I’ve been wanting to make a Deadpool hat like this for quite awhile. Unfortunately, I had to put off this project for awhile do to other project commitments. Recently, I finally was free enough to give an applique pattern a shot. I had an idea of how what I thought the pattern should be before I started testing it out and it only took me a total of 3 times of testing to get it how I liked.

I am very happy with the way the eyes look and how they look on the red hat I had made last week. (I personally think the eyes would look better a little closer together BUT my boyfriend says he thinks they look really good just the way they are.)

You can use whichever hat pattern you would like but I like Oombawka Design Crochet’s basic DC hats and HDC hats.Though this pattern calls for an H hook and Aran/worsted weight yarn, you could use any hook size or yarn to match whatever weight yarn you use for that hat part. In addition to the written pattern, I have also included a simplified number guide of how many SCs and HDCs to do in a round. Also when you weave in ends after you finish off the applique, I recommend using the last black end to sew on the hat. In addition, I also used the white center end to help keep the eye more still to make sewing on a little easier.

13923535_527137644150655_6959510674197269366_o

***This applique pattern is intended to be used for personal use only. NOT to be used for means of making profit!***

Deadpool Eye Applique 

Hook: H

Yarn: Aran (or any worsted weight yarn) in black and white

R1:  With the white yarn 7 HDC into  a magic ring. Slip stitch into first stitch and cut yarn.

R2: Attach black yarn. CH 1, 2 HDC in each stitch around. Slip stitch into first stitch.

R3: Ch 1, 2 SC into first stitch, 1 SC into next stitch. Repeat SC pattern one more time. 2 SC in next stitch, 1 HDC in next stitch. *2 HDC in next stitch, 1 HDC in next stitch* repeat twice (for a total of 3 times). 2 SC in next stitch, 1 SC in last stitch. Join to first stitch.(SC: 2+1+2+1+2, then HDC: 1+2+1+2+1+2+1, then SC: 2+1)

R4:  Ch 1, 2 SC into first stitch, SC into next 2 stitches. Repeat SC pattern one more time. 2 SC into next stitch, 1 HDC in next 2 stitches. *2 HDC in next stitch, 1 HDC in next 2 stitches* repeat twice. 2 SC in next stitch, 1 SC in next 2 stitches. Join to first stitch. (SC: 2+1+1+2+1+1+2, then HDC: 1+1+2+1+1+2+1+1+2+1+1, then SC: 2+1+1)

R5:  Ch 1, 2 SC into first stitch, SC into next 3 stitches. Repeat SC pattern one more time. 2 SC into next stitch, 1 HDC in next 3 stitches. *2 HDC in next stitch, 1 HDC in next 3 stitches* repeat twice. 2 SC in next stitch, 1 SC in next 3 stitches. Join to first stitch. (SC: 2+1+1+1+2+1+1+1+2, then HDC: 1+1+1+2+1+1+1+2+1+1+1+2+1+1+1, then SC: 2+1+1+1)

R6:  Ch 1, 2 SC into first stitch, SC into next 4 stitches. Repeat SC pattern one more time. 2 SC into next stitch, 1 HDC in next 4 stitches. *2 HDC in next stitch, 1 HDC in next 4 stitches* repeat twice. 2 SC in next stitch, 1 SC in next 4 stitches. Join to first stitch. (SC: 2+1+1+1+1+2+1+1+1+1+2, then HDC: 1+1+1+1+2+1+1+1+1+2+1+1+1+1+2+1+1+1+1, then SC: 2+1+1+1+1)  Cut yarn, tie off, and weave in ends. Make second eye to match.

 

Leave a Reply

