Simple Stitch Tunisian Crochet Neck Warmer or Cowl

Before the end of last year I decided to challenge myself to expand my fiber arts skills. Giving Tunisian crochet a try is one of the ways I have chosen to meet this challenge. I have had this long Tunisian hook around and I figured it was about time I put it use.

For my first projects I decided to keep things simple and started with the Tunisian simple stitch. My first project was a cowl made with Red Heart Super Saver. After finishing this I decided to make a neck warmer using some Caron Simply Soft. Below you will find some notes for these projects if you are interested in making a simple stitch cowl or neck warmer yourself.

Don’t know what the Tunisian simple stitch is? Click here to see a video tutorial about how to do it.

 

Tunisian Simple Stitch Cowl (Blue)

Yarn: Red Heart Super Saver

Tunisian Hook: I

Size:  10 1/2 inches x 26 inches

Chains: 41

Rows: 93

When the cowl has reached the desired length, bind off (click here for a video tutorial) and seam the ends together. I used the mattress stitch (click here for a video tutorial) but you can seam the cowl together using whichever method you prefer.

 

Tunisian Simple Stitch Neck Warmer (Orchid)

Yarn: Caron Simply Soft

Tunisian Hook: I

Size: 9 1/4 inches x 23 1/2

Chains: 37

Rows: 90

When the neck warmer has reached the desired length, bind off (click here for a video tutorial) and seam the ends together.  I used the mattress stitch (click here for a video tutorial) but you can seam the cowl together using whichever method you prefer.

Leave a Reply

